Thursday, March 15, 2007

Cynsational News & Links

Check out the exhibit of illustrator Don Tate's work at the San Antonio Children's Museum. Don's books include The Hidden Feast, written by Martha Hamilton and Mitch Weiss (August House). Read a Cynsations interview with Don.

Open Discussion: What's Missing? from the YA Authors Cafe. The question is: "What genre or subject matter seems to be neglected in today's contemporary teen lit?" There are already some great comments; be sure to add yours.

Showcase March/April: Friends in the Animal Kingdom from CBC Magazine. "Children enjoy stories, fables, and tales about animals. This Showcase highlights stories of classic, as well as soon-to-be classic, animal characters in picture books, nonfiction, and novels for all ages."

The fifth annual Pacific Coast Children's Writers Workshop convenes Aug. 17-19 at the Hilton Hotel near coastal Santa Cruz, CA. Congenial, intensive seminar for 35 writers of realistic, character-driven, upper MG and YA novels. Work closely with all faculty: Julie Romeis, editor, Bloomsbury-USA Children's Books; Andrea Cascardi, Agent, Transatlantic Literary Agency; Barbara Shoup, multiple-award-winning author and writing teacher for 35 years. Highlights: manuscript clinics (pre-workshop readings), focus sessions ("Subplots and Secondary Characters"); 90 percent hands-on. $299-499 plus lodging for up to three in-person faculty critiques. Academic/continuing-ed credits available through the University of California. For the most critique options, request application by April 2 or ASAP. Details and faculty interviews are on the workshop's website:

"Side-Stroke or Crawl?" Wordswimmer looks at point of view in Wait for Me by An Na (Putnam, 2006)(recommendation) and also references my recent interview with Barry Lyga on The Astonishing Adventures of Fanboy and Goth Girl (Houghton Mifflin, 2006).

Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America Andre Norton ballot from janni. See Cynsations interviews with finalists Justine Larbalestier and Scott Westerfeld.

Teaching Multicultural Literature: A Workshop for the Middle Grades and The Expanding Canon: Teaching Multicultural Literature in High School from Thirteen WNet New York.

Turn Your Idea into a Book by Laura Backes from Absolute Write.

Virtually attend the debut signing (from Paula's Jort Too) and launch party (from Laura Bowers) for So Not the Drama by Paula Chase Hyman (Kensington Books, 2007)(excerpt).

Visit Tanya Lee Stone's new page on MySpace. Read a Cynsations interview with Tanya.

More Personally

Thanks to Debbie Reese of American Indians in Children's Literature for her shout out about my new gothic fantasy YA, Tantalize (Candlewick, 2007). Debbie says "While I'm not a fan of vampire stories, I can say that I was drawn into Cyn's tale. I read it a few months ago, and with great ease, can feel myself walking around inside Sanguini's." How sweet is that?

Thanks to Stephanie Burgis for her kind words about Tantalize. She reports: "Italian food descriptions to salivate over, a really cool depiction of how werewolf dynamics would mix with teen angst and hormones, and a theory of why vampires would move to Austin, Texas, that made me laugh out loud." I'm honored!

Thanks to Jennifer Lynn Barnes, who callls the novel, "a wonderful, beautiful, heart-breaking book that you should all read." Don't miss her recent release, Golden (Delacorte, 2006)!

Thanks to mango_firefly at Hello Ma'am, whose take is, "a fine combination of edge of your seat suspense, mixed with sensuously atmospheric romance." She goes on, "Fans of Twilight, Great and Terrible Beauty, and Blood and Chocolate will rejoice in this gothic fantasy masterpiece, that will keep them guessing until the end. With gorgeous cover art, well-researched plot, and a unique splash of wit, Tantalize is a keeper."

Finally, wowza! I'm honored to be listed as an author and blogger at These Are a Few of Our Favorite Things by Three Silly Chicks! Learn more about chicks Andrea Beaty, Carolyn Crimi (author interview), and Julia Durango (author interview).

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...