Sunday, January 29, 2012

Last Call: PEN Phyllis Naylor Working Writer Fellowship & Steven Kroll Award

Source: Pen America Center
at Cynsations

PEN American Center is accepting submissions until Feb. 1 for the $5,000 PEN/Phyllis Naylor Working Writer Fellowship, given annually to an author of children's or young-adult fiction.

The Fellowship is designed to assist a writer at a crucial moment in his or her career to complete a book-length work-in-progress. Past recipients include Lucy Frank, Pat Schmatz, Carol Lynch Williams, Theresa Nelson, Diane Les Becquets, Graham McNamee, Lori Aurelia Williams, Franny Billingsley, Amanda Jenkins, and Barbara Shoup. See details, and learn more about Phyllis Reynolds Naylor.

PEN American Center is also accepting submissions until Feb. 1 for the $5,000 PEN/Steven Kroll Award, established in memory of Steven Kroll to acknowledge the distinct literary contributions of picture book writers.

The annual award will be presented for the first time in 2012. It will acknowledge an American or U.S.-based writer for exceptional text illustrated in a picture book. See details.

 Cynsational Notes

Author Steven Kroll Dies at 69 by Rocco Staino from School Library Journal.

2 comments: said...

Cynthia, it's so wonderful how you help keep writers/authors informed. My publisher just e-mailed me that she submitted my picture book for the Pen Award. When I googled it, your blog came up! Thanks for your blog and continue to inspire...

Cynthia Leitich Smith said...

My pleasure, Carol! Good luck with your picture book submission and keep in touch!